Upcoming Workshops & Talks

Pose 4 A PURPOSE

virtual yoga festival fundraiser

Saturday, Sept 12th - Sunday, Sept 13th

See full schedule  HERE  

$25 each day

In 2014, Lorien started the first Pose 4 A Purpose yoga festival as a fundraiser for people with cancer. Even after her move to the opposite side of the country, this event has continued to raise funds in support of people with cancer! This year it is virtual and Lorien gets to once again be part of it... PLEASE JOIN US!

WALK WITH ME

Sat, Sept 12 8:00-9:00am PST, 11:00-noon EST

Practice intervals of mindful walking, moving, meditating and stretching – a great way to commune with nature while getting in some healthy activity! Find an appropriate path for a 15-minute walk, after which you’ll stop and practice some movement and stretching.

Recommendations: Wear sun protection, comfortable shoes and bring water.

 

LAUGH WITH ME

Sun, Sept 13 11:00-noon PST, 2:00-3:00pm EST

Laughter yoga uses a combination of laughter exercises and yoga breathing to approach laughter as a body exercise that can easily be done regardless of mood. Medical studies around the world have described the benefits of hearty laughter, including: a positive effect on the immune system, counters stress and fear through brain chemistry, promotes a positive outlook, counters depression and helps deal with pain by releasing endorphin.

Recommendations: Practice in a comfortable chair.

Donations for these special classes go to  Complementary Cancer Care a nonprofit that provides free non-medical services to people with cancer.

Cancer-Informed YTT

online yoga teacher training

Tuesday, September 15th - Friday, September 18th

10:00am - 1:00pm PST / 1:00pm - 4:00pm EST

$240

There are now more people living with a cancer diagnosis than ever before. Chances are high that you will meet some of these students in your general population classes. Learn how to work with this population and understand their special needs in this 12-hour online course. Through a combination of lecture and practice, you’ll gather the information necessary to make informed decisions about what to say/what not to say, what to include/exclude in a practice, and how to address common side effects. In this 12-hour course, you will learn:

  • medical terms and treatments as they relate to a yoga practice

  • short and long-term side effects

  • contraindications and modifications

  • psychological effects of cancer

  • how to create an inclusive and safe environment

 

The training will include a handout on safe, go-to poses and modifications to common asana practices that may be contraindicated for someone dealing with cancer. 

 

12 CEUs available for RYTs who complete this course.

To register, send an email to Lorien using the button below.

© 2004-2018 Lorien Neargarder. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • facebook-square
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle